Mounting Rear MIK Rack Over Allant+ 8S

souldoubt

Region
USA
I'm really not in love with the dinky rear rack the Allant+ 8S comes with. However, fully removing it and replacing it with another rear rack isn't awesome because that means the fender and integrated light go too. I happen to have a MIK rack and it seems to fit without much fuss over the integrated rack. I'm able to remove the existing rack's mounting bolt and simply run the bolt through both racks' mounting holes. The bolt doesn't bit as deep but I do still get a few turns in. Throw a collar onto the seat stem for the stabilization bars and this situation seems to work.

I'm not a mechanical engineer so my question is: Does this seem sketchy to mount two pieces together in this way? Would using a longer bolt be smarter--and where does one find such bolts, it's a difficult part to google.

Attachments

• double_rack_close.jpeg
    double_rack_close.jpeg
    523.4 KB · Views: 699
  • double-rack-full.jpeg
    double-rack-full.jpeg
    530.7 KB · Views: 685
I'm really not in love with the dinky rear rack the Allant+ 8S comes with. However, fully removing it and replacing it with another rear rack isn't awesome because that means the fender and integrated light go too. I happen to have a MIK rack and it seems to fit without much fuss over the integrated rack. I'm able to remove the existing rack's mounting bolt and simply run the bolt through both racks' mounting holes. The bolt doesn't bit as deep but I do still get a few turns in. Throw a collar onto the seat stem for the stabilization bars and this situation seems to work.

I'm not a mechanical engineer so my question is: Does this seem sketchy to mount two pieces together in this way? Would using a longer bolt be smarter--and where does one find such bolts, it's a difficult part to google.
The bolt is no doubt metric. Have you tried a local hardware store, one with a good selection of nuts and bolts? Not Home Depot, but an independent one.