Loss of power / sduro hardnine rc 2015 (Yamaha PW)

opaca

Region
Europe
City
Belgrade, Serbia
Hello to everyone, I'm new here, this is my first post :)

Anyway, I got a second-hand Haibike sduro hardnine RC 2015, (Yamaha PW) in a fair condition. I am new to ebikes, just have it for a month. Now, the motor was running just fine, but a couple of days ago, I have noticed a significant loss of power.

I have tried to analyze the motor, there seems to be noise from the bearings, but no play, which should not be a major problem. I have ordered a new set of bearings anyway.

The bike is modded, was when I bought it, the chip inside is unmarked, cannot say which one it is, but I can say that it shows incorrect speed when the chip is plugged in (tried without it, the speedo is working fine).

Now, when I take the bike out of the house, it starts normal, but really soon, after a kilometer, it goes into that loss of power.

The trick when I hold the button on the battery to check health, says that the battery has between 200 and 300 cycles, and battery health shows 75-100%, so that should be ok.

Since I am from Serbia, there is no official support for the ebikes. To be frank, ebikes here are rare, so only a couple of bike repair shops work on these, and mainly have experience with Bosch, none with Yamaha. I have talked to them, and they have no idea what it could be...

Has anyone experienced a similar problem? Need your help! Thank you in advance!

Just a thought: Have you cleaned the battery contacts and the battery socket in the bike with a contact cleaning fluid?

As Stefan says, check the contacts. They should be simply clean and shiny. Yamaha does not recommend any kind of grease on the contacts. There should be no burn marks of any kind on either male or female terminal lugs.