Longest lasting tire recommendation

bobwatts

Old Person
Region
USA
City
Loveland, Ohio
Hello!
As a retired mechanic, Service Writer, and a business owner of 50 years, I am also a Professional Tinkerer. A couple of years ago I built a bike that currently has almost 3600 miles on it.
The bike uses an EGO battery for power (I have 22 of them and figured I would put 'em to use) and is capable of 35MPH, although with a better battery it could probably go faster. Details deleted, as you would probably find them boring.
As I mentioned, at almost 3600 miles I am almost ready to replace the front tire for the third time. (front wheel drive). As this is a pretty tedious procedure, I would like to know if anyone has any suggestions to make for a tire that would last a lot longer. I did some searching and really didn't find any information that pertains to tire duration on this forum. I admit that I probably missed it, as I'm guessing this has been discussed before.
My tire size is 26X2.125. Bike is only ridden on warm days on pavement, NEVER off road or in the rain. Current tire is a Schwinn "Cruiser Hybrid Bicycle" tire which I originally selected because of the plain street tire tread pattern and somewhat square shoulder, as well as being pretty wide.
My only criteria are a tire that lasts a long time. I don't care about tread pattern or any other detail. (although I won't use a knobby tire).
Looking forward to suggestions.
Thank you for allowing me to join your fine forum.
bobwatts

It might be a pain; but, can you rotate your tires 1/2 through tire life? I do this with my rear hub Radrover and that extended my tire life by +50%.

Hello mrgold35 and fooferdoggie

fooferdoggie, I have had my eye on those schwalbe tires. I don't see one in my size however. I may have missed it.