Knocking sound from front disc brake?

Chibbie

Region
USA
Hi all,

My Vintage Electric Cafe bike has developed a metallic knocking sound (and accompanying pulsation that I can feel through the handlebars) coming from the front wheel when applying the front brake. It only happens with the front brake; if I apply the rear brake alone, I do not get the knocking sound or pulsation. It also doesn’t happen while coasting: only when applying the front brake. And the sound gets louder/stronger in proportion to how hard I’m apply the brakes. The brakes are “Promax Lucid Hydraulic disc brakes.”

I am a complete bike newbie, so I lack the tools and skills to try to diagnose or fix it myself. I’m nonetheless wondering what might be causing this, both for my own learning and so that I can tell my local bike shop what specific things to check.

Thanks in advance for any insights!

Last edited:
Is there any lining left on the brake pads?

I wouldn’t know how to tell if there’s lining left on the brake pads, but the brake pads are brand new. The local bike shop just installed them last week (but the problem didn’t manifest until today, a week after the new pads were installed).

Hang the bike, spin the front wheel freely while looking at the front rotor, and see if the rotor is flat and if it stays free of contact during rotation.

Then while spinning the wheel, slowly apply the front brake while looking at the rotor and caliper and try to see what generates the noise.

Last edited:
Thanks, y’all! (I’ll see if I can come up with a way to hang the bike: I don’t have a bike stand or hanging hooks).

This happens on my Magura MT5's using Tektro downhill rotors in the most extreme, steady downhill use. We're talking slow descents where the hill is so steep I start leaning on the brakes while speed is still very slow and I am clamping the bejesus out of the levers to keep it that way.