Insurance for your Juggernaut

G..

If you live in a city, especially a big one, theft happens. So you likely want to insure your new ride.

After days of back and forth with my insurance broker this is what I found out. Of course, I'm not an expert so you should have this conversation with your own insurance company. I wonder if things are different in the U.S. Or other provinces? Anyway here is what I have to report, let me know what you think and if you have other info to add.

Most (maybe all in Ontario, Canada) insurance companies will not insure an e-bike as a scheduled item. E-bikes are covered under most home policies up to $1000 for peril (fire, water damage, earthquake, etc). However, theft is not a peril so the e-bike would be covered for the full amount if stolen. This means my bike is covered already under my home policy; however, it would be subject to my deductible. Vandalism (which is not related to theft) is a peril so capped at $1000. Vandalism which is a result of theft or attempted theft is covered for full amount.

You can buy bike insurance here in the US, there are several companies, and for around ten bucks a month. velo insurance is one, I can't recall the other at the moment and there may be more than a few. Take a look as there might be one that offers it outside of the US. Deductibles as low as $100 too.

You can buy bike insurance here in the US, there are several companies, and for around ten bucks a month. velo insurance is one, I can't recall the other at the moment and there may be more than a few. Take a look as there might be one that offers it outside of the US. Deductibles as low as $100 too.
cheapest full coverage I could find was around 30.00 per mo .

If you live in a city, especially a big one, theft happens. So you likely want to insure your new ride.