Rishabh_verma

Region
Canada
Hi! I'm new to the e-bike world and I'm attempting to build an ebike, I feel like I've done way too much research with everything and confused myself so maybe I could grab some help?

Desired max speed on level ground: max 60kph
Desired max range: 80km at 40kph
I don't have a preferred wheel size, whatever works best.
Planning to put it on a disc brake, will probably start/upgrade to hydraulic.
Rider weight: 170lb
Terrain: mostly flat but I'll have some hills, occasionally I'd like to be able to cruise up something with a 7% grade for 12ish km
Budget: somewhere around $1500 to $2000 CAD, The less the better:) I don't need unnecessary accessories/features.

I live in B.C. Canada, which is known for its hilly terrain, I could also drive to Grin Technologies, so kits from there would be a decent suggestion.

Grin sells quality stuff, but it's pricey.
With your "max 60kph" comment I wonder if you've ridden at anywhere close to that speed on a bicycle.

Grin sells quality stuff, but it's pricey.
With your "max 60kph" comment I wonder if you've ridden at anywhere close to that speed on a bicycle.
I haven't. I realized that its a very high speed but to be a bit more specific, I'd ride at 30-40kph most often, and felt that having the ability to go that fast would be good. A max of 50 would do just as well.

I wouldn't do that speed without wearing motorcycle leathers and a snell rated helmet. Too fucking fast, you can't react quickly enough to situational changes out of your control.
Unrealistic given today's battery tech, unless you want to put two *good* batteries on your bike. I get about 25 miles at 25 mph on a 674 Watthour 48V battery (did this once to measure range). A second one would cost me $550 (US) plus the mounting rack and Y-plug and cable. But... I do get 50 miles on a single charge if I restrict my battery pull to 167 watts (at full charge, less apparent wattage over the 50 miles of discharge to empty).