Got the 2021 STANCE E+2

hdradaza

Had a hardtail Fathom. Going thru lots of trails offroad. Snapped up only stock left of Stance E+2. Then wondered if I should have waiting for the E+1. Newbie here so still learning a lot:

1) E+2 has sync drive sport vs E+1 sync drive pro motor - is this a big difference?
2) E+2 rear shocks no lock out vs E+1 rear shocks can be locked out - is the lock out really necessary on flat roads and uphill? I don't feel like there is a waste of energy on flats now.
3) E+2 Tektron brakes vs E+1 shimano. - thoughts on this?
4) Routes here are usually aroun 70% paved and 30% off road trails. Is this enough for me already? Or would the Stance E +1 been a better choice? Would the trance be too much bike?

Thanks for your input...

Attachments

• received_1473310786197798.jpeg
    received_1473310786197798.jpeg
    157.9 KB · Views: 3,991
I think folks sometimes obsess over the specs too much. If the E+2 is comfortable and fun to ride snd you are not breaking components and they work (it shifts, stops and pedals well) going for the higher spec may be diminishing returns for you. The shock lockout is good to eliminate bobbing while climbing and important on a non E bike but less so on an E bike, in my opinion. As for Tektron brakes, I have had really good ones and some that were problems but Giant specs their bikes really well for their intended purpose. Shimano Deore level they spec is perfect for riding trails. If you were racing or riding really aggressive trails, a higher spec would be better but, frankly, most of us (me included) buy bikes with equipment way better than our needs. You have a nice bike from a great company. If you find some issues with some components at some point, the components can always be upgraded as needed.
Congrats and enjoy the ride!

I own a well equipped Trance E+ 2 Pro.