FatSix Top Gear Skipping

Fitzy

Hey all,

I started riding my new FatSix 2015 about two weeks back, and have had few issues. Recently, one has been giving me plenty of aggravation. After I oiled up my chain, it has an annoying habit of skipping teeth on the highest-gear of my cassette when under load. It seems to occur regularly when in Tour and above. I made sure the derailleur was properly adjusted to align chain with teeth. The limits are set properly, and there is no visible damage or defect with any components. The derailleur-clutch is "ON", and I've even adjusted the B-tension screw in hopes I could get at least one more tooth covered on the gear: still slips. Any suggestions would be helpful.

BTW: I weigh about 280# if that helps.

Model: Shimano XT RD‑M786 10SPD Rear Derailleur and matching 10-speed cassette.

Thanks,
-Fitz

Do you have at least 5mm between the jockey wheel and the largest sprocket? How much of an angle is there on the chain? Does it ever happen on the second to largest cog?

You might want to point a video camera (phone, GoPro) at your derailleur and see what is actually happening under load.

jeff

Ha! Thanks Jeff, I was actually going to include a "short of getting a slow-motion video of the problem, I don't know what to do!". I just may end up doing just tat.

Love your avatar BTW. There used to be huge "Reddy Killowatt" sign at a power-plant near where I grew up. Always thought he was pretty cool looking.

Ha! Thanks Jeff, I was actually going to include a "short of getting a slow-motion video of the problem, I don't know what to do!". I just may end up doing just tat.

Love your avatar BTW. There used to be huge "Reddy Killowatt" sign at a power-plant near where I grew up. Always thought he was pretty cool looking.