Bixtrix v Ride1U?

knharper

Region
USA
I'm new to ebikes, relatively fit older lady 5'3" and am tossed between Bixtrix Step Thru Lite and Ride1U core 500/700. My biggest factor is price (like to stay under $1500) but also weight, as I often have to lift my bike to put it on my trailer hitch rack. Any suggestions that might help me decide? Service, etc.? I was thinking of calling local bike shop (they only carry Trek and Electra and unfortunately, Electra's comparable ebike is in infinite backorder, apparently) to see if they would work on either one. Any other suggestions similar in style/performacne and weight? Thanks.

I have also looked at Aventon 350/500 and Blix Sol, but I'm not wild about the Sol handlebar configuration...

I have looked at the 700 as well s the 500. 700 is heavier, but many reviews say it goes significantly farther on a charge. Do you find this to be true? Any comments on service?

Consider a folder or just a 20” wheel eBike. My kitted folder is my lightest bike. AND it fits in my back seat or trunk. BTW I never fold it.

Read the reviews here on any bike suggested. Posters tend to think and post their choice as the best. May I ask what city you are in or near? Do you a a favorite bike that could be turned into an eBike with a good kit?

Thanks! Sounds like you may be right, tomjasz, that folks tend to rave about the bike they own. But I consider that a good thing. I have perused a LOT of reviews on this site and very seldom see anything really negative. I do not now own a bike. I had a Specialized Crossroads Hybrid for many years, but it really was too big for me, so I need a smaller size. I'm not a huge fan of the foldable bikes or the ones with really small tires, however. They sort of remind me of clown bikes... (no offense...) Taylor57: what do you mean by don't sleep on Espin? Do you mean, "Don't sleep; order it now!" or "Don't even consider it..." Thanks again!