Bafang 750 Watt, Integrated Wheel, Rear Hub Fat Bike Motor

Bravesst

I'm new to ebikes and took my first plunge with a retro beach cruiser 20 inch fat bike, the Addmotor Motan M-70. I am enjoying this bike for all it's worth, but am frustrated at not reaching advertised performance of 28+ mph. I'd also like to extend battery life, or open to possibly travelling with two batteries. The bike has plenty of hill climbing ability and torque, but won't budge past 21 or 22 mph, even with the addition of a 52 inch chainring was 48). The bike came with a 48 volt, 14.5 amp battery as well.

Goals: go faster and further, be able to pedal at higher speeds (or not).

Thanks In Advance!

Last edited:
I don't know for sure, but my bet is the bike has a speed limit of 20 mph set for it. If they say it's good for 28, my bet is the current speed limit will need to be set to the newer higher limit of 28 in it's setup. How to do that is likely in the owner's manual, but if not, give them a call.

Hi @AHicks, thanks for the advice. I reached out to Motan and they say there is a video explaining how to do this, and will send the link. The manual tells you how to set to 40 kph, which I did, and got no change.

We'll see what video says. Any ideas about upgrading battery (they don't recommend going over 48v).

@Timpo Yes, 52 tooth not inches o_O. This had an effect, but not really on top speed - it allows me to pedal while in 7th gear and level 4 assist (5 if up a hill) and feel some resistance. This must save on wattage.

I never expected 32 mph, but did expect 28 or at the very least 25+. The manufacturer still states this is possible. I'm supposed to be getting a link to a video that explains it, but I bet it's just the same old video on how to use the display to adjust wheel size, mph or kph, and max speed, which I already set to 40 kph.