Any reason not to go with Rad Wagon 4 for flat kid commutes?

DesertTortoise

Region
USA
Hi all! Having been on bikes continuously for 45 years, I'm new to the e-bike world. Never thought I'd want/needed one, but with the summer approaching here in Southern Arizona, I have set my eyes on a cargo e-bike, in hopes of continuing to bike-commute with my 3-year old son to his day care in the mornings. We've been using the Mac Ride top tube seat on my regular, muscle-powered commuter bike, and the little guy has enjoyed it so much more than being confined in his rear-facing child seat in the car.

Money is definitely an issue, since my wife is not very supportive of an e-bike and doesn't want to co-sponsor it. The only options available locally are Tern and some other brand whose name I'm forgetting (Yuba, I think....) but those cost like $6,000, and I didn't even look at them in the store, because the cost is completely out of the question. The Terns seem to be well made, but the $3,300 price tag (plus tax) is incredibly unattractive. Plus, from reading reviews, I understand that pedaling a mid-drive motor with a drained battery is next to impossible, so I'm tempted to rule the Tern out based on that reason alone.

Looking at a Rad Wagon 4 as a very attractive option. Downsides seem to be the weight (oh well) and the unusual tire size, which I don't think will be much of an issue. In decades of bike commuting, I can count my flats on one hand, plus, I'm old-school, and I fix tubes with patch and glue, so I don't really care if the 22-inch tubes are a little bit harder to come by.

Some don't like the Rad Wagon because it's more difficult to store upright or carry it up and down stairs. Again, those are non-issues in my case, as the bike will live in the garage just like a car (One thing we can't complain about here in Arizona is lack of space). ;-)