Why no reviews for Hyper Eride?

Mackatee

I am new to the ebike scene. And I am thinking of purchasing my 1st ebike soon. I have been doing much research, and watched/read MANY reviews. As an entry level rider, I am wondering why no one (EBR, or otherwise) is doing full scale review of the Hyper Eride?

I know that the bike is not "good", that's not the point. But at it's price point, it's seems to be THE entry level ebike (eMTB, anyway.) And being available at big box stores, makes acquiring one pretty simple.I mostly ride city roads, but would like the option for light trail rides as the weather gets better. And I cannot find a full scale review anywhere to see if this eMTB would work for me.

It would be nice to get a review that trys to show how they shaved cost. And if those cost saving measures mean lack of options, inferior parts, longevity, etc. that make it worth/not worth purchasing.

Why has EBR not reviewed the Hyper Eride? Beginners like me wanna know.

Can’t speak for EBR but it’s likely Walmart won’t pay the service fee charged for EBR to review the bike. You could try contacting Kevcentral or Micah Toll at Electrek.co who have reviewed big box budget ebikes.

Last edited:
Purchasing ebike in Walmart is not any simpler than ordering some Chinese import from other sources. They don't keep it on the shelves, you'll have to order and take a delivery or pick up at Walmart. The only benefit of buying from Walmart is a (relatively) easy return within 3 months if it won't live up to your expectations in terms of range, power and comfort (on a brief glance I don't see how it could), or poops out.

It has a very small 280WH battery. The smaller it is, the sooner you'll need to buy a new battery 'cause you'll be using full capacity every time.
Also, 250W motor doesn't make it an EMTB, more like a short-range commuter, only without lights and rack.

Last edited: