Who's ebike riding could ALL be done on a regular bike?

The duke

Some of us have physical limitations where our desired rides require motor assist. Others of us what to ride distances or climb hills that necessitate a motor.

I'm wondering how many of you ride your ebike in ways and on rides that you would be perfectly capable of riding on an analog bike. And I'm not talking 'occassionally.' I'm talking all the time?

I think I fit into that category. I'm fat, but not physically limited in my riding ability. The hills on my ride are steep, but not beyond my ability. And my butt really only likes to be in the saddle for 15-25 miles, so regardless of if I had a motor or not, my rides would never exceed 2 hours or 25 miles. I just feel more supermanish on an ebike. I'm more relaxed knowing if I feel fatigued, I can always kick up the assist on those last few ascents. And I'm a tech weenie and enjoy the novelty of having an ebike. I can't claim I'm doing anything I technically couldn't before.

I wish this forum had polling ability. But I'd like some anticdotal evidence. How many of you wouldnt be riding (at least a majority of the time) if not for an ebike? How many of you use your ebike to do things and go places that you could never on analog? And how many of you just have an ebike to make quicker work of rides you'd do analog anyway? Interested to hear.

I have health problems so I started out with ebikes so that I could keep riding. Personally I could care less what anyone rides, it's their choice, but I have two ebikes that I'm currently using, an SS-Glide single speed and an Orbea Gain. When going on the exact same ride of about 20 miles at about the same speed (14-21 mph) there is no doubt that I get a lot more exercise using the Orbea. My heart rate monitor shows an average rate of about 20-30 beats more on the Gain, I sweat a lot more on the Gain, and I feel a lot more tired - which is why I prefer the Gain since I ride for my health.