What tire pressure for a fat bike?

dgroebl

I’ve just received my new super sweet Juggernaut Ultra FS fat tire bike and I’m not sure what kind of tire pressure to run. I realize the 26” x 4” fat tires will probably always seem squishy but I wonder what is a good pressure of them. I’ll just be riding on the street as a commuter.

I’ve just received my new super sweet Juggernaut Ultra FS fat tire bike and I’m not sure what kind of tire pressure to run. I realize the 26” x 4” fat tires will probably always seem squishy but I wonder what is a good pressure of them. I’ll just be riding on the street as a commuter.
Read the tire pressure recommendation on the Sidewall of your Tires !

Sorry, I'm new to the cycling world. In the automotive world at least we don't drive around with the max pressure as labeled on your tire sidewall. Your fuel mileage would be great but your ride would be terrible and wet and dry grip limits would be negatively affected as well.

That being said I was quite shocked to see that the max pressure was only 30 psi! I put them up at 28 after reading Ian's post, but now after seeing Tars post perhaps I'll try 25 and then 20 and see how she feels.

26x4 has a lot of square inches of rubber on the ground. Your bike mfgr ought to have something to say about this, but try and adjust until you get comfortable.

TT

The best way to find your personal psi is to air up above what you think necessary and ride on your typical surfaces while incrementally letting out pressure and noting the ride characteristics each time. Once the ride quality gets noticeably bad take a psi reading and then pump back in a few psi or until it feels good again. Note that psi on your gauge and use that. If you increase the load you might want to add a little to compensate.

I found tire pressure is really about the kind of terrain you're on, and what you're comfortable with. I don't even carry a tire gage in my bag, I just Fill and Chill ! ??