Petite rider ISO basic, lightweight ride

newtothis

Region
USA
I'm new to the ebike world, looking for a relatively lightweight ride to give just a little more oomph to my speed on mixed-use urban roads, and add some fun to my errand runs.

Background / use: My "analog" bike is a 1980s touring Trek with very aggressive geometry and razor-thin tires. I lovethis bike and this style, am used to a long reach and dropbars, but would be willing to take a slightly more casual seat given the extra weight and wobble of an ebike. True cruisers make me very uncomfortable though. I want a bike that rides like a bike. Likewise, I'm not interested in fat tires, but would appreciate something with a bit more bite to the road than my current ride (so I can safely contend with imperfect asphalt and foul-weather days - not a possibility with my beloved Trek). Daily commute is only <5miles each way with rolling hills, nothing treacherous, so range/power are not huge issues, but it'd be nice to also use to haul some groceries, go on longer rides with a few steeper inclines, etc. I'm petite at ~5' and, though fit, don't think I could handle more than 50lb of metal. Also prioritizing removable battery for a number of reasons. Local to western PA (USA), so have also limited myself to bikes in stock at LBS that I should be able to try out in person (with it, too, some peace of mind that I can get local service if needed).
All uses generally doable with my Trek of course, but I don't want to arrive at work super sweaty and out of breath (long covid is annoying...), generally want something that isn't too unfamiliar, but also compliments what I already have.