Need some BMS Advice Please

NovaOx

Region
Canada
Hello, My E-bike's BMS has died, I think I know the proper BMS I need for my E-bike (Moscow plus), but I am not 100% sure so I thought I would ask and see if I was right. The battery is a Dehawk I5 48V 16ah 768wh, there is no AMP rating that I can see at all on the board, but on the positive output wire I have a 30A fuse, so I assume the BMS should not exceed 30A? If I get a 13S 48V 30A BMS will this be suitable? I had seen on some info for the battery its constant discharge is 18A, and the motor on my bike I believe is 500W, The 30A BMS's often state suitable for a 1000W motor, will this hurt my motor using it? I assume the controller on the bike itself governs the amount of amps/watts used but I am not sure as I am new at this stuff.

The motor controller determines the max amps. They don't stop working when you hit the limit. You just won't get any more current. You can use the biggest 48V battery you want, but the controller will just use what it was designed to use.
I believe a 20A BMS means it uses transistors rated for 20A. It doesn't hold the max current to 20A. If the controller asks for 30A, you may get it if the cells are string enough, but you may melt the BMS transistors. Nothing wrong with using a larger BMS if that's all you have, but you don't put in a smaller one because it may overheat.
The problem I have seen with hard case batteries is that there is often no space available for a larger BMS. Check the space you have and the dimensions of the one you're going to buy,.
When you choose a BMS, make sure it has balance capability, Look for the balance current specifications, usually 40-70 ma. If this is missing, it won't balance. If the cells are off by .15 volt, you could lose 20% of the available AH easi;y.