Need help with brakes.

K78

Region
United Kingdom
I’m really struggling with choosing brakes for my ebike build. I’ve been attempting to order them all day but keep changing my mind.

Initially I was going to order MT5‘s because they are a bargain, then I seen MT5 eStops. Great a ebike version, then I seen MT5e.

It seems the MT5e are the ones to go for but they are twice the price of the regular MT5’s. Which makes me start looking at Hope V4’s again.

Are the Hopes worth the premium over the MT5e?

Advice would be appreciated. Got loads of parts to order but brakes are the only area I can’t decide.

Thanks

MT5e are the ones to go for but they are twice the price of the regular MT5’s.
MT5e has integrated brake cutouts. They tie into my build harnesses with Higo connectors

Reactions: K78
Does that mean they cut the power to the motor?

Im very new to all this.
Yes. If you are a beginning Ebiker without a local bike shop, I would encourage mechanical brakes. The hydraulics can be a little tricky.

Yes. If you are a beginning Ebiker without a local bike shop, I would encourage mechanical brakes. The hydraulics can be a little tricky.
Brakes have changed a lot since my last bike 😊

I have a local bike shop. They’re going to build my bike. As you say hydraulics are a bit tricky so I didn’t want to mess anything up.

Hope seem to be a bit more beginner friendly than Magura. I’ve read Magura need constant adjustment and bleeding is difficult.

I’ve read Magura need constant adjustment and bleeding is difficult.

Being new to hydraulics myself, and thinking I'll never likely be upgrading all my eBikes to hydraulic, I just use the local bike shop.

"I read", is a dangerous phrase given there's no attribution and LOTS of misinformation in forums and opinions from those that may have bitten off more than they can chew.

Magura is known globally for its motorcycle hydraulics, great build quality, and top support.
If you're riding over 20MPH they are a must by many accounts.