How does one get into mountain biking?

TrailSeeker

Region
USA
Hey guys! I'm new here, and just got into biking. I had a question on how a new guy can get into mountain biking for the first time?

It looks like so much fun! But being a little older it might be too late for me to start. I know it is probably also dangerous, but I can get past that I think.

For those that do it now, how did you start and do you think there's an age cutoff to learn?

Also I'm getting an allant soon (mostly for trails), but could I also use it for basic courses?

Thanks!

Having tried just that on a beginner single track last year, I wouldn’t risk your new Allant on it. It really all depends on where you’re riding. A gravel road, grass track, open field and dirt path would be good starting areas.
I’m a beginner and got a good EMTB so I could give myself every advantage. I’m really enjoying it but it’s also easy to get yourself in trouble very quickly! I highly recommend you just learn about and enjoy your new ride for a while to understand your and your Allant’s limitations.
E859F099-D61A-40CE-BE63-6D6FCE4DAA2D.jpeg

Attachments

• AF2760E9-F1A9-4FF2-9387-D7A5F55FA865.jpeg
    AF2760E9-F1A9-4FF2-9387-D7A5F55FA865.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 216
  • FCC9D2B6-4D60-49E0-A53A-D9F654D15356.jpeg
    FCC9D2B6-4D60-49E0-A53A-D9F654D15356.jpeg
    858.9 KB · Views: 230
  • DD80337F-AC05-465C-93A1-C2A5DE5F8C40.jpeg
    DD80337F-AC05-465C-93A1-C2A5DE5F8C40.jpeg
    830.5 KB · Views: 209
Well first thing you do is take any and all opportunities to post as many photos of your bike as possible. 🙃