Hello from not so sunny Scotland! Total noob here! Help with battery charge port cleaning

Baconator

Region
United Kingdom
Hello everyone!

First time post here so be gentle šŸ˜„

Got my new hybrid stereo 140 last week, rides fantastic but apparently the cover for the charging port is letting in some water a muck šŸ˜“ itā€™s a tad flimsy in all honesty.

Itā€™s extremely wet where I live šŸ˜“

Thinking about totally covering the area as I can remove the battery to charge in the house.

First of all anything I san use to clean port out? Have seen some people mention isopropyl alcohol, would I then need some corrosion protection? Wasnā€™t sure if I could use something like gt85 as it says it can be used on electronics?

Could you recommend something else if possible?

Any thoughts on what I could use the cover off the area?

I have attached someone elseā€™s picture for worst case scenario.

Thanks in advance

Attachments

• 959B3B26-5E64-45C5-92E5-B0189F387C4B.jpeg
    959B3B26-5E64-45C5-92E5-B0189F387C4B.jpeg
    145.1 KB · Views: 165
Hello everyone!

Got my new hybrid stereo 140 last week, rides fantastic but apparently the cover for the charging port is letting in some water a muck šŸ˜“ itā€™s a tad flimsy in all honesty.

Thinking about totally covering the area as I can remove the battery to charge in the house.

First of all anything I san use to clean port out? Have seen some people mention isopropyl alcohol, would I then need some corrosion protection? Wasnā€™t sure if I could use something like gt85 as it says it can be used on electronics?

Thanks in advance
What ever you do , don't use anything conductive!
Personally I would use compressed air to clean and if the cover is faulty , just cover the ports with some duct tape .

What ever you do , don't use anything conductive!
Personally I would use compressed air to clean and if the cover is faulty , just cover the ports with some duct tape .