hello everyone I'm new here and would like to learn some things..

thomasp68

Region
USA
I am trying to help a friend with his bike. it is a 36 volt 750 watt conversion kit. it doesn't have much power and I am wanting to get rid of the 3 light thumb throttle and install a LCD display so I will be able to go to the settings and set the wheel size and adjust the speed settings. also so he can have speedometer, odometer, etc.now I'm confused about what to buy. the throttle on his bike has a 5 pin connector which my research is telling me should be for a hall sensor and throttle should be a 3 wire connector. this bike does not have pedal assist connected at all. and since the motor seems to make a bit of noise I'm wondering if it is a sine wave controller. I've only been reading about these things. I have no real knowledge about this subject so any assistance I can get will be greatly appreciated. so my main question is if I order a LCD display with the older style connector meaning the flat one not round one.. obviously it will connect to the only 5 pin connector available and buy a new throttle. will that connect to the connection that has 3 wires hat is not in use currently. also if I do need the sine wave controller then I will just replace the controller with a new one that also comes with an LCD display for about $50. I hope this is not too confusing. thanks

The controller you have MAY have an output for a “3 position switch”. This switch normally would be “eco”, “normal”, and “sport” modes. Would you mind sharing a picture of the controller (along with its connections) and a link to the kit?

The throttle, you mention that it has lights, does it also have a switch? Throttles with the lights (for displaying battery level) will have more wires than your typical 3 wire throttle.

The flat style connector would be a JST connector. The round one is referred to as a Water Plug (WP).