Fat-Tad indecision

rich c

This summer I started riding my full suspension mtb along the Hennepin Canal. It's like 75 miles of basically a straight line and little elevation change. We also have a crushed rock rail trail that goes about 30 miles in a similar fashion. I'm thinking a Fat-Tad from Electric Trikes on slicks would be the perfect nature cruiser for those rides. Heads up and a relaxed position for the miles. The canal ride is so enjoyable with birds and water views the entire distance, I think the heads-up ride would let me enjoy the view better. Any opinions about the recumbent trike?

I own a Fat Tad. I bought it a couple years ago, planning to convert it to electric, but haven’t gotten around to it. I’ve only put on a few miles but would be happy to answer any questions you might have.

It’s a big heavy trike, but the suspension and fat tires make for a nice, comfortable ride. Ride height isn’t very low, so ground clearance is good and getting in and out of the seat is relatively easy. I wobble when I pedal, but I assume that’ll go away with practice. I haven’t gone very fast on it yet.

It doesn’t roll though standard doorways and is heavy and awkward to carry. Im hoping it’s not too much worse when converted with the battery removed. I wouldn’t want to have to carry it twice every time I rode. I have it I my garage.

Most of the components are acceptable quality. I don’t think I’ll be swapping them out for better ones. I’m not that picky.

Overall, I’d recommend it, but it’s obviously not the right ride for everyone.