East Motion Evo - how far will it take me for my commute?

Operator7

I have a commute distance of 30 miles. Most of this is a bike path along the beach (So Cal), and the rest is mostly a dedicated bike lane. I am a newbie, and am in the process of doing heavy research. In another forum room, I read several comments that the battery performance is often much less than stated, as well as things like "you shouldn't run the battery past 20%".

My commute will likely be a little over an hour. I am willing to do SOME pedaling, but I certainly don't want to do heavy pedaling the whole time. As a matter of fact, I'd like to be able to take breaks and be on throttle alone.

Can experienced riders educate me on the performance I can expect from a bike like the Evo? If you have a suggestion for another bike that might better suit my purpose, please feel free.

thank you!

If you want to know distance as a general rule of thumb multiply the voltage (36v for instance) by the amp hours (9ah) to give you 324 watt hours - then, take that number and divide by 20 to give you an approximate distance in miles - in this case 16. I would use that number as the likely distance you'd get, unassisted on flat terrain assuming you're a relatively light weight rider (under 180lbs or so...?).

I have a neo xtrem - I ride it in pedal assist only, why? because you can pedal without breaking a sweat most of the time - I am sure the Evo would be similar (which evo version are you looking at in particular, they have several).

Evo's come with 12ah batteries (except for the Evo Eco Lite). I reported I am getting around 30 mi on one charge, but I am overweight, not fit, and I have rolling hills in my area, all of which contribute to a shorter range.