DIY Silverfish Batteries

stevet2233

Hi All,

TLDR; Guess to put it as simply as possible my questions are:

1) How do I safely open/close the Silverfish Battery Cases once assembled

2) What size cells in what combinations of series/parallel will i need to craft a 48V 11.6 Ah and 499.2Wh battery (or something equivalent enough that it will also be safe for my bike)

I am relatively new to the whole e-bike thing, but I'm a mechanical engineer and have also been working with a lot of electrical stuff for years and feel confident in my ability to properly build a battery and attach a BMS(i build telescopes that get put on space probes and launched into deep space, i should be able to handle a battery haha), my main concern would be proper component selection, proper insulation/housing and the more specific electrical stuff to make sure the cells and layout i select will generate the proper voltage/current for my bike. My goal is to craft a backup battery, i haven't decided if i want it to be identical to my current one or have a longer life (current one seems pretty solid), price will likely determine this in the end

A secondary goal is to learn how to take the Silverfish batteries apart properly (shockingly difficult to find a guide online) to confirm the honesty of the seller (he told me they were samsung cells, id like to confirm this). The battery case looks like it has been opened, as the warranty label has clearly been ripped, but it also clearly has chinese on it, so it is totally possible that he opened it himself and replaced shitty chinese cells with quality samsung ones.