Cafe Vintage Electric - First EBike?

kal16

Region
Canada
Hi everyone!

I am a college student looking for a bike to commute with/also just use to explore my city more. I live in a fairly hilly area so I want a bike that would be able to power through some hills. My commute is about 25 km with lots of up and down.

I have found that the Cafe bike by Vintage Electric has everything that I am looking for. Namely, I want a geared bike with a 750 W motor, a fairly big removable battery, hydraulic disc brakes, and an athletic riding position. There is also a local bike shop that sells them, which is important for me because there are not many Ebike shops in my area because I live in Canada. I realize that many say that this bike is overpriced and that you are paying for style. I would love to know if anyone has any recommendations of bikes to look at that have everything the Cafe has to offer, but at a lower price point. I find I get very overwhelmed looking at all of the different options! I also am interested if anyone on here has any arguments that support the stretching of my budget to meet the Cafe price point?

Thanks everyone! I look forward to hearing from you guys.

I'll let others chime in about the bike and potential alternatives, but they really lose a lot of credibility when they try to claim that their "750 watt drivetrain delivers nearly 3X the power of its competitors". Any 250w options in this price range will be mid-drive, which have more torque than a 750w hub motor. If you're looking to spend this much, a mid-drive motor makes a lot much sense, especially if you have a lot of climbing.

I really don't consider that pedal forward design to be a great commuter. You can't get the leg power to the pedals as well as a more traditional eBike. Secondly a bike like that will be a target for theft on a college campus. You want something plain looking or even a little rough looking. I think your ownership of one of those would be less than a month on campus.