Are Bosch Speed 28mph motors programmed different?

ya my bulls was too. but all the bosch parts are in the UK. my trek was built in Germany. my tandem in Hungary. Taiwan is where high quality bikes are built over china.
Yes, I worked in the bike industry for 20yrs but have been out of it for more than 10 now.

Canyons are built in Taiwan.
Bosch motors are made in Hungary, the European Union.
Brose motors are made in Berlin, Germany
Mahle motors are made in Europe
Yamaha motors are made in Japan.

Yes, bikes and e-bikes are made in Taiwan (as foofer said, Taiwan means high quality). The e-bike electronics is often Chinese, I give that.

Anyway, your Bosch motors come from Europe. (A fun fact: I hear the Chinese Bafang is now making its Euro motors in Wrocław, Poland, EU).

Also, to add, I pulled the battery out and its the 500W, not the 250 as shown on the decal below.\
The decal is the motor power, which is 250 Watts.

Your battery may have a capacity of 500 Wh, which is Watt-Hours. Watts and Watt-Hours are not the same, as one is power and one is capacity.
Watts = Volts * Amps
Watt-Hours = Volts * Amp-Hours (think 12 volt automotive batteries here).

Another unit of power measure besides Watts is Horsepower.

There are 4 performance motors.
Performanceline (65nm)
Performanceline Sport (65nm 28mph )
Performanceline CX (85nm)
Performanceline Speed (85nm 20mph)

The difference between 65nm and 85nm should be obvious as their bodies are different.

Edit changed last one to Speed was sport. Sorry about confusion.

Last edited:
Performanceline (65nm)
Performanceline Sport (85nm 20mph)

The difference between 65nm and 85nm should be obvious as their bodies are different.

what about Performance line Speed?

Performanceline (65nm)
Performanceline Sport (85nm 20mph)