2020 Vado 3.0 winter tire fit

Greg Smith

Region
USA
Winter is upon us and this is my first year riding in snow and ice with an e-bike. Previously, I rode a Trek 520 with 35-622 Schwalbe Winter Marathon Plus tires. I think these tires are too narrow to fit the rims on my Vado, so I'm looking to purchase new tires.

The OEM tires on the Vado are 47-622. Unfortunately, the winter tires I'm comparing do not come in that size. They are either 40, 42, or 50mm.

Will a 50-622 with studs fit under the Vado's fenders without rubbing? Naturally, I'd prefer going with the wider tire in Winter if possible. Anyone running Schwalbe 50-622 Winter Marathon Plus tires on a Vado? The fenders on the Vado are not really adjustable.

Greg,
I own and ride a 2017 Vado 5.0. I do not think this e-bike (which is almost indentical to the current Vado 6.0) is different to 2020 Vado 3.0 in terms of wheel size or fender fit. Both my Vado 5.0 and the current Vado 6.0 come with 51-622 Specialized Electrak 2.0 Armadillo tyres.

Two seasons ago, Schwalbe Marathon Winter Plus were available in 47-622 size so I bought them and used for a winter. However, I was curious if the 50-622 MW+ would fit, and I bought them for the 2021/2022 winter. A full success. The tyres fit the Vado fenders perfectly and without any rubbing! I have ridden for 1,103 km on them without any issues!

1669024502020.png

1669024556521.png

Greg,
I own and ride a 2017 Vado 5.0. I do not think this e-bike (which is almost indentical to the current Vado 6.0) is different to 2020 Vado 3.0 in terms of wheel size or fender fit. Both my Vado 5.0 and the current Vado 6.0 come with 51-622 Specialized Electrak 2.0 Armadillo tyres.