Zen Photon - Details From The CEO & Finding The Perfect Winter Commuter

Miggles

Region
Canada
I'm not an expert on the (excellent) tech in the Zen Photon or eBikes in general, so I figured it would be
helpful to provide a summary of my eBike research as a "typical"/standard MTB commuter: this post is
intended for individuals who are likewise just entering the eBike sphere. I plan on eventually updating
this post or writing a review in a few months once I've had time to ride it.
81480f4b-.jpg

c31d0c58-.jpg

8ce7aade-.jpg

Disclaimer
I'm not affiliated with Zen Bikes in any way - just an annoying customer who's sharing what they've
learned about the technical details of the bike. Ravi Kempaiah, the CEO of Zen Bikes, very generously
offered me his time so be sure to thank him if you appreciate this post. The sources of this post are
about 50/50 from Ravi and the web (manuals & experts). As noted by Ravi, the zenebikes.com/ca site
has some discrepancies but they are aware of this and are working on updating the site. You'll have to
contact the Zen team directly if you are interested in upgrades (and their prices) that are mentioned
below but not currently listed on the site.

Details
Be sure to check out Zen's 2023 model post before reading this one, as I will avoid repeating what's
already been covered. It's nearly the same as the 2024 model except rear racks are now welded rather
than bolted on, and the lights have been upgraded from 200 lumens to 400 lumens.

Tires: still comes with the Schwalbe Super Moto-X tires by default, but can be upgraded to all-
seasons (Schwalbe Johnny Watts 365). The rims are 27.5 inches and support a minimum width of 2
inches and a maximum of 2.8, but 2.4 - 2.6 inches is ideal: 2 inches will look goofy, and 2.8 inches
will require removing the fenders. The Super Moto-X tires use inner tubes, but the rims themselves are tubeless-ready.
Racks: rear rack welded to the frame and is rated for 25kg (55lb); front rack is bolted to the frame