What's your maintenance routine?

Dave E

I haven't owned such a nice bike before, and definitely never one with expensive electronic components. I'd like to make sure I'm taking proper care of this investment, plus it's my ride to work.

So what do you all do to your bikes on a regular basis?

I lube my chain once or twice a week, check/fill the tires once a week, recharge the battery every day, and charge all my accessories as needed (headlamp, tail light, earbuds, etc.). I feel like I should be doing more.

I work in a shop, so I put the bike up in the stand at least weekly. I drop the wheels, install a dummy hub to clean/lube the chain (I use Rock 'n Roll Gold), check it for wear, blow brake dust out of the disc calipers with compressed air, and give the entire bike a detailed wipe-down. Sometimes I pull the brake pads out so I can clean the caliper more thoroughly. I don't check tire pressure very often...maybe once a month. I have not really done anything regarding the electrical connections, other than look to see that they are clean. I do need to get a screen protector for the Yamaha display; I only use quality microfiber to wipe it but it has still picked up scratches.

Mostly keeping it clean/wiping down, especially in winter on wet roads. Probably clean/lube the chain every second week or so, using a wet lube. I deal to things as they need dealing with. It is worth proactively keeping an eye on spoke tension, no need to obsess.

Dust/wipe. Wash when it looks dirty. As for the chain--when I bought chain lube at my LBS, the guy said to lube the chain when it got noisy, and if all was quiet, all was good. (I have a hub drive, BTW).

On the mid drives, checking the chain wear is much more important. On the hub drives your chain wear should be normal (you will get > 5000 km from a quality chain). I used to have a 7-mile off-road trip to work each day and in those days I had to clean and oil the chain constantly. These days I do it maybe quarterly.