Turbo Vado 5.0 Three-year review

Camasonian

Region
USA
After much research I purchased my Turbo Vado 5.0 in the fall of 2021 when the new/current version had just come out. They were rare as hens teeth back during the heart of the pandemic but here in the greater Portland metro I was able to find one e-bike store that had one in my size on order that I was able to put money down on to reserve. I specifically wanted the new version due to several improvements to the rack and lighting that were important to me.

This bike is strictly a year-round commuter machine for me. I use it for nothing else. I have high-end road and mountain bikes that I use for all my recreational riding. So 99% of the miles I have put on my Vado are daily commuting miles. I'm a teacher and my commute is 13 miles each way diagonally across the Vancouver WA metro area from Camas up to Orchards (for those who know the area). 90% of it is on suburban street with ordinary bike lanes but there is one nasty stretch I can't avoid where it is narrow with no bike lane that is just grit your teeth and get through. There isn't a viable alternative route. Also since I have summers off, most of the riding is fall/winter/spring when it is often dark, cold, and drizzly here in the Pacific Northwest. From Nov-Jan I'm usually riding in the dark to get to work. Often cold, rainy dark.