Similar Bikes?

Mike Smith

Am I alone in thinking these bikes look alike? Different brand names, but almost identical specs? One from US, one from Switzerland, one from Canada, one from some factory out of China. Yes, Stromer has some high tech features, but you pay a premium for this bike and dearly for any upgrades ($360 for fenders, lights, and a rack, really??) These come standard with most of the other "similar" versions. Am I missing something here? Still looks like Volton has the best deals for US buyers, plus Joe who is just great. Don't want to digress any further, just food for thought, or maybe I'm way behind the learning curve, as I am a Newbie and I will admit that, but looking to become a seasoned veteran soon, just can't make my mind. Still love the look of these bikes overall.

Attachments

• volton.jpg
    volton.jpg
    101.3 KB · Views: 397
  • stromer-electric-bike.jpg
    stromer-electric-bike.jpg
    92.8 KB · Views: 679
  • motorino LTi.jpg
    motorino LTi.jpg
    48.6 KB · Views: 356
  • product_48_full.jpg
    product_48_full.jpg
    48.6 KB · Views: 315
Last edited:
Please clarify what you mean by "identical specs", in terms of the top five benefits, not components. You are not alone. But there is a much better approach.

It took me along time to realize that I made poor judgments by comparing specs. The trick is to subordinate components to the benefit categories for your particular situation.

Here is a Google spreadsheet that lists over 50 components, related to benefits. and an explanation about how to make the best judgment.

Does this make sense?

Please add the link to the bike review URLs for the attached pictures.

Last edited:
Yes they look similar just from a cursory glance at the frame of each. Don't know how similar they are down to the components; would be interesting to see them side by side with a listing of each component underneath to compare what's the same and what's different.