rear mirror or radar

CTDude

Region
USA
Hello all! I'm a newbie here and I just purchased my first eMTB (Viribus Panther). So far I love riding it and want to learn much more. I'm considering getting either handlebar mounted mirrors or possibly radar and welcome any an all suggestions and input as to which might be better. I don't ride too often in the woods yet and it's more on the streets and roads near my home.

People think well of the Garmin Varia.

For mirrors, I like helmet-mounted mirrors for a bunch of reasons. The least expensive and simplest are typically Good Enough and in my opinion the most appropriate tech.

All of these mirrors are small and have a narrow field of view, it is easy to tilt your head from side to side to expand the field of view and that is easier and safer than wiggling your handlebars to be able to see more. Also, a mirror on your handlebars is at higher risk from breaking off if you hit something, get too close to something, or if your bike falls over when parked.

I have a handlebar mirror and recently also got a radar (Garmin Varia). If necessary, I’d use the mirror without the radar (as I did before getting the radar), but not vice versa.

From my first rides with the Garmin yesterday and today, I am finding it to be extremely useful in combination with a mirror. Doubt I’d go back to mirror-only, but I definitely can’t see going to radar only, at least not in my case. So, I’d get both if you can.