New Rad Rover. Several Questions

bottomsup

Region
USA
  1. My Front breaks make a rubbing sound. I read to not adjust until past the break in period of 25-50 miles but today at 30 miles I tried to adjust. I followed the rad instructions and did it twice. It's better but I notice the outer pad has lots of space and the inner has none. Normal? Pic of caliper and disk attached
  2. Also after adjusting the brake I notice the lever has more travel than i'd like. To fix this should I adjust the cable pinch bolt or inner pad brake pad adjustment?
  3. I have not ridden a bike I n20 years so i'm no expert but my gear seem like trash. Up shifting to around 5th is fine. 6 rattles, clunks, and never grabs...i try to shift to 7th and it's already in 7th so 6th is messed. Downshifting I get a rattling in the derailleur and have to push the lever up almost the next down gear but not quiet to get it to catch. I also can't get it into first without pushing the thumb lever extra hard.
  4. Any recommendations for a phone mount with a cover that won't let in dust but allows the touch screen to work? I looked at top tube bags and there are some that have this but I don't want a top tube bags so looking for a handlebar mount.
  5. I some times hear a hollow humming sound when using PAS 3 or above. I'm pretty sure it's the motor but wanted to ask.
Love the bike so far. Having a lot of fun!

There should be air on both sides of the disk. Yes it's a pain, but it's a good brake if set up correctly.

Regarding your gears, watch a couple of youtube videos and adjust your derailleur! That adjustment (or lack of it), can make the bike a pain in the butt to ride, or perfection! If you struggle to come up with the patience to get both the brake and the derailleur perfect, see if you can find a local bike shop that will do it for you. Both of these adjustments are part of a good prep/tune up.