Looking for a budget ebike for short commutes

bleta

Region
Europe
I am looking to buy my first ebike, as I would like to use it as my main commute to work which is around 9 miles (14 km) away. As I am currently a student, I am looking for something at around $600-$900. My only request is that the bike has enough range to get me to work and back (so more than 20 miles). I don't really have any other requirements, I just hope to buy something that won't have me do maintenance every week, but I know that at this pricepoint reliability can be an issue. I live in the Netherlands so everything is flat and the bike paths are pretty good. I weigh 66 kg or around 145 lbs.

Looking at my requirements, I realized that I would have to look at cheap Chinese foldable ebikes. However, there are countless companies that I came across so I do not really know what to choose. Some of the brands I have looked at are DYU, FIIDO, Samebike, Himo. However, there is that many reviews online or comparison so I wanted to ask for an opinion.

In short, I want an ebike that is:
  • As cheap as possible
  • Somewhat reliable
  • [Edit] Foldable

Last edited:
This is pretty fun to watch, if you're interested in cheap project.

There are two parts, I will post part 1 and 2.
Ofc this is also an option. However, since I am not so handy with building things, I was just thinking of buying it already made to avoid any problems I might make installing it.

Another problem that I forgot to mention in the main post, is that I want it to be foldable so I can take it up to my house (I live in an apartment building). Since bike theft (and especially ebike theft) is a big problem in the Netherlands, I cannot just leave it outside. I don't if you can convert a normal foldable bike to an electric one, I thought that it would probably cause a problem with the folding mechanism, what do you think?

Why do you need an e-bike in the first place? Your budget is even low as for a good traditional bike...