Lectric Bike XP - Power Issue

ramg1967

Hello All,

I have been using XP bike since May 2020. So far covered 2500 kms. It is working fine.

Just a minor issue started few weeks ago - keep loosing power. I have to turn off the key - turn on and continue riding. What could be the cause? Is this fixable through bike shop or it is time for battery replacement?

Appreciate your input.

RL

Just to be sure, the power button on the handlebar won't work after you loose power until you switch the battery off then back on? T/F

That is correct. I have to switch the battery off - turn on and then press power button on the handlebar to continue riding. This keep happening every 200-300 meters. Have to stop frequently to fix the issue.

Then it is not likely the battery. Cutting off the power with the key is having the same effect as unplugging your modem when your internet goes out. You're resetting the electronics. Do the things you can such as unplugging all the connections and reconnecting one at a time. If that doesn't work then remove the discharge plate (the plate mounted to the bike opposite the battery that connects the battery to the bike). The controller is behind the discharge connector. Check those connections as well, looking for any carbon deposits that would indicate a poor connection. Check the solder joints on the controller for loose connections as well. Clean any connections showing carbon deposits, have any poor solder joints repaired at your local electronics repair shop. I suspect replacement of the controller along with the display unit would resolve your problem. Lectric customer service will send you one for a fee if it's out of warranty.

Or for free if you're still in warranty....
I'm a retired electronics tech by the way. Have built a few ebikes, started my ebike journey with the Lectric XP.

Last edited:
I will give it a try at local electronics shop. The bike is out of warranty.