Known Issues & Problems with E-Glide Products + Help, Solutions & Fixes

Ann M.

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric bikes from E-Glide as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

Got an SS-Glide Plus a bit over a month ago, great bike, Dave answered the phone when I called to buy it, very helpful, and the bike got to me quickly and in great shape. These aren't complaints, just a few observations that probably only apply to a total newbie like me:

(1) Maybe point out that a signature will be required when it is delivered. I work from home so it wasn't an issue - but many people don't so having someone around is a problem.
(2) The instructions for the front wheel quick release and the included bike computer could be clearer. Probably fine for 99% of users, but for a dolt like me I had to do some youtube searches to figure it out.
(3) The manual says to charge the battery fully each time you use it, but other posters say it's best to leave it at about 50-80% charge. Not a big deal, but is one or the other better? I charge the battery on the bike so it's not a problem, but removing it is a bit of a pain since it isn't a quick release battery.
(4) Since it has fairly narrow and high PSI tires and no suspension you do feel every single bump in the road. I made it a bit better by getting a suspension seat post, and it's just the nature of the beast, but next time I buy a bike I'll give up some efficiency and handling to get a slightly more comfortable ride.