Geared Rear Hub Motor Durability

Jeffrios

I'm new to the electric bike scene and am very interested in purchasing one for my commute to work. I plan to commute to work 1-2 times per week. My commute one way is 12 miles, it will be on road or on paved trails.

I know the durability for regular components but my question comes down to the electric motor.

Direct Drive motors are the must durable long term, I figured that out, but the bike I am interested in is the Juiced CrossCurrent S, this has a rear-hub geared Bafang motor.

What kind of durability should I expect? I asked Juiced and they said it should last a couple of years?!?

What is the general thoughts on how long it will generally last? 2000 miles, 3000 miles?

I don't plan on biking in the rain or snow, so lets assume normal wear and tear.

Finally, is replacing a rear-hub motor cheaper and easier to replace than a mid-drive unit?

Thanks for the insight!

The only experience I have is with a geared Bafang on a Sondors fat bike. Originally, many people had magnets come loose, but mine are okay. I have mine tore apart now because a Hall sensor has failed. 1,690 miles on the bike. Replacement can be pretty easy if you can find a direct replacement. In fact, many Sondors owners do an upgrade when the motor fails. They pull the guts out of a 750 watt motor and it plugs right into the housing of the 500 watt. No lacing required.

Interesting. 1700 miles is far lower than what I expected. As said earlier, 5000 miles or close to is what I was expecting.

Interesting. 1700 miles is far lower than what I expected. As said earlier, 5000 miles or close to is what I was expecting.