Forum Down

Stefan Mikes

Region
Europe
City
Mazovia, Poland
The EBR Forum was down for almost a day. Can we ask the Administration for the reasons?

I was trying to convince my friends in these Forums to maintain alternative ways to communicate. Yes, I have a small bunch of EBR friends on Strava, and could find a single member on RWGPS. Probably a single friend on FB. What if the Forums go belly-up for good?

As an admin at other forums (none in the bike/ebike industry) as well as a server administrator for a small web site hosting farm in a previous life, I can say that... plain and simple... these things happen and should be expected from time to time. Where I graduated up from 'moderator' to 'admin' was because I knew underlying web-based database management, and how to optimize it for max throughput. Its not at all unusual for a forum like this to get 20+ db queries per second; every second. And they can involve large amounts of data thruput if the forum software is storing images in CLOB/BLOB database fields rather than as discrete files on disk.

There are also dns issues, feature upgrades that go wrong, ill-behaved search engine bots crawling the site with abandon and sucking the life out of its resources, SQL buffer brute-force attacks that are turned back but still eat resources with the attempt itself plus the logging of same, and much more; any one of which can bring a site down.

This sort of thing should be expected on occasion. If its a problem then ask for your forum membership money back :D

One of the causes I cited above was 'DNS issues'. My bookmark for the 'Whats New' page was

electricbikereview.com/forums/whats-new/

But now it is

forums.electricbikereview.com/whats-new/