First things first

FarNorth

OK, even though I've put 1,000 miles on an ebike I feel like a total newbie here, but let me ask a question: Why is the first question about buying an ebike anything other than "Torque sensing vs. cadence sensing?" It seems to me this divides two distinct types of bikes and riders. I like riding bicycles, therefore I like torque sensing ebikes. If it was all about getting to Point B, a cadence sensor would be fine. Doesn't this sound like a good starting point for answering the question, "Which ebike is right for me?"

Not in the mind of somebody that prefers cadence sensing (with amperage limiting PAS levels, not speed limiting) and a throttle.

So let me ask you a question. What makes you believe that cadence is only for those that want to get to point B?

I like bikes too....

As another newbie in learning (just hit 350 miles) I have to say, I love my throttle. I find I like to leave my PAS low, gear selection high, and *feather* the throttle to push the bike while at a moderate cadence (for me must be about 70) , leaving a little for the zip feel of acceleration (max throttle) and conserving power. I can cruise at 18 without crushing my battery.

Why is the first question about buying an ebike anything other than "Torque sensing vs. cadence sensing?"
Because you might need:
  • A city e-bike
  • A fast commuter e-bike
  • A trekking/touring hybrid e-bike
  • An e-MTB (Cross Country/Trail/Enduro)
  • An e-road bike
  • An e-gravel bike or e-fitness bike
  • etc.
The primary function/intended use of an e-bike is the first question to be asked.

A pedal-assist only e-bike may be equipped with a torque sensor or a cadence sensor but it will not have the throttle at all. The "throttle/no throttle" question is only relevant in North America (and in Asia but we don's discuss Asia now). Europe, Australia and New Zealand don't allow the throttle at all. The "throttle/no throttle" is even not the secondary question.