Do Fenders really perform / work ????

Ken M

I've got some Topeak M1 Defender Fenders on my Polaris eBike (Court did a review video of these on his own bike a while back). They are good fenders (especially if you like the more motorcycle fender appearance) but I really question if there is such a thing as a truly effective bike fender when riding at any speed over about 15mph.

The wheel speed tends to literally pump most of the water that collects on the underside of the front fender forward and then it streams up and into your body and face. I know there is a fender on a Specialized bike with channels that move the water to the outside edges of the fender but I have no first hand experience with them so would like to hear if that works. The other problem with every front fender that I can think of (mainly if you ride on on a road with any standing water) is the splashing of the tire. You can simply take a yard stick and take it from the contact point of the tire back to where your feet and lower legs are going to be while pedaling and it's obvious that this is not blocked by a fender. The few times I've ridden in significant rain (had Gortex protection on except for my feet and I was just wearing 100% leather sneakers) my feet go soaking wet in about 10 minutes. If you want to arrive with dry feet when it's raining I think a set of waterproof shoe covers is a must.

Fenders to reduces the water that is released by the tire that end up on the rider but it's time dependent. If you are riding for say more than 10 minutes in the rain fenders result in no difference to how wet you are going to get. If the road is just wet and it's not raining, I think you'll still end up pretty wet.