Deceptive reviews: industrywide?

spokewrench

Region
USA
Youtube ebike reviewers create the impression youtube is their only source of revenue. The content may show that they are paid advertisers as well. The Aventon site links to several Abound reviews. In one, Scott Hardesty shows the cargo rack ($159) with the similarly expensive panniers mounted below it. He says the rack interferes with opening the panniers.

He says he’s going to pick up a rug at the dry cleaner’s, and he’s taking laundry to drop off. A sped-up clip shows him tossing clothes into a wide-open pannier. i didn’t understand the contradiction, but seeing was believing. The combined capacity appealed to me. I ordered the rack and the panniers.

The rack would not allow the panniers to open. I studied the video. The mounting of the pannier is invisible in a shadow, but the position of the pannier shows that it has been hung from the rack, six inches outboard of the normal place. It would make the stationary bike 32 inches wide. In motion, the panniers would swing wildly. Detaching it from its normal place for loading would require removing the rack. The video lied to get customers to buy useless panniers.

Hardesty’s disclaimer shows it wasn’t his idea. It looks as if Aventon insisted on adding the deceptive clip. The high speed and opaque shadow show technical sophistication.

With 30 miles on my odometer, I got a flat. If I hadn’t marked the sidewall before removing the tube (in order to match the hole in the tube to its position in the tire), I never would have found the cause. It was what I would call a grain of sand, 2.6 x 3.6 mm, embedded in the tire.

By my count, the tire had 25 TPI. In the industry, anything below 60 is considered low quality, in part because an otherwise harmless particle can slip in between cords. In this case, the particle had cut a cord.

I checked reviews to see why I had thought the bike came with decent tires.