Belt Drive

Brambor

I have been using belt drive on our bikes for about 2 years. We have two Scott Sub 10's with belt drive and we love the cleanliness and functionality of this system.

It is too bad I only found 2 ebikes out there with a belt drive system - Faraday Porteur and the other one (forgot the name and brand) :)

I have been using belt drive on our bikes for about 2 years. We have two Scott Sub 10's with belt drive and we love the cleanliness and functionality of this system.

It is too bad I only found 2 ebikes out there with a belt drive system - Faraday Porteur and the other one (forgot the name and brand) :)

The other brand I know of that uses belt drive is Grace and they have it on the MX2: http://www.grace-bikes.com/Bikes/Mx2

They sure are cleaner!

You have some good questions!

One of the reasons more ebikes don't use belt drives vs. chain drives, is torque sensing systems on many hub motors which is done on the axle or the drop-out. If you use a belt, it needs to be under high tension for this type of torque sensor to function properly which causes the belt to wear our more quickly then a chain. There are bottom bracket torque sensors available but they are comparatively much more expensive.

The best combo for a belt drive bike is a center motor system, like Bosch and an internally geared hub. You will see these as the eBike market continues to expand.

Last edited:
in the last few days I have been trying to dig up any information about the Grace Easy. It appears it is offered by one CA shop

Aside from Court's Review there is this glowing review from Australia. Not knowing at this time whether the ST2 will be belt drive and somewhat scared by the starting price of the Stromer ST2, I have an reignited interest in the Grace Easy, especially when fitted with the Brooks seat and handlebars as shown on their corporate site.