Battery died suddenly

canadmin

Region
Canada
I am 77 years old retired veteran and live on Vancouver island in British Columbia. I've cycled a fair bit years ago and ridden motorcycles for years. I spent my early working life as a mechanic so I'm pretty handy with tools. I am new to ebikes having purchased a second hand BPM trike with a samsung battery and bafang 750 amp motor about a month ago. I've had it out for a few rides and everything was going very well until today. I'm estimating that I traveled between 15 and 20 miles when my battery suddenly died. The display went blank. I checked the connector which was dry and tight. I checked the voltage when I got home and got less that one volt. Put in on the charger. After about 3 hours the charger went green. Checked the voltage and got 0. Checked the fuses and both were good. The display came on but showed an empty battery. I've always found that batteries die slowly. They give you a warning. Are ebike lithium ion batteries different? What could cause battery voltage to drop and stay at 0 volts? Any help would be appreciated and I thank you in advance. Cheers!

Looked at a picture of a BPM trike. Do you have this style battery? Are you measuring at the bottom with the keyswitch on? The keyswitch on the one I owned is a robust unit that switches the power line directly. There is a BMS circuit card in the battery that monitors the internal cell voltages. These have to be in a certain range, 3.0-4.2V, for safety, If one cell is below this range, the BMS shuts off the battery and you read zero volts, unless the BMS switch has residual charge on it,

silvery.jpg