Trying to decide on my first ebike

tedya

Region
USA
Hi Members. Am new to the forum and am looking to buy my first ebike. I'm not a bicycle novice by any means but am new to the ebike scene.
I have a couple of questions/thoughts and am wondering how you folks feel or what you have experienced.
1) When it comes to the budget (no-name) China ebikes ($1,000 to $3,000) at the warehouses here where I live, why are 90% of them all fat-tire bikes?
Brands like Troxus, Mokwheel, Magicycle, Magnum, etc. I don't see the need for fat-tire unless you are riding on sand at the beach or on snow-covered trails/roads. One of the sales people actually told me they are fat-tire to handle the weight of the bike. I can't buy a bike from a shop where I'm told that. That is ridiculous.
2) Are people (businesses) just ordering from China and white-labeling them here in the states?
I have explored numerous brands and have found that 90% of them are all the same with a couple of tweaks here and there. Colors and component options. The frames look exactly the same for the most part.
3) Are the budget bikes worth it or am I going to regret buying one down the road?
They all seem to have the rock-bottom level components like Shimano Tourney or Altus transmissions and either cheap mechanical or very entry-level hydraulic brakes (Tektro or white-labeled ones from China)Some have white-labeled motors or Bafang motored hub drives. The few mid-drive ones in the budget category seem to be extremely underpowered, saving on cost.
I really am only looking to spend up to $2,500 in the budget category so I really can't have very high expectations but the budget bikes all seem to be WAY overpriced for what you get. I feel these budget bikes are nowhere near worth the price tag. If I end up buying one of these budget bikes, am I just buying a piece of junk?
What have others experienced?
Thanks!