Deaf Riders

Baxter's Dad

Seven months ago I suddenly lost between 95%-98% of my hearing in both ears in a matter of 48 hours. After lots of doctor visits, probing, medications, CAT scans, and an exploratory spinal tap the prognosis was the loss is permanent and there is no clear reason why. I was fitted with very expensive hearing aids that give me sort of a digital amplification. It's far from normal hearing, but it lets me somewhat function. I misunderstand about 50% of the conversations. They say blindness takes away things, but deafness takes away people. I became isolated and avoided contact with people in general.

I recently started riding again after discovering the world of Ebikes. I enjoy being out and getting exercise and fresh air. My riding is on somewhat busy suburban and city streets. My hearing aids produce a strong wind noise so I turn them down or off completely. I worry that riding without being able to hear traffic, especially coming from behind, is dangerous. I did buy a good handlebar-mounted mirror but I worry if it's enough.

Are there any other hearing-impaired riders who ride in traffic?

I'm really happy for you that you found ebiking! I don't personally know other hearing impaired ebikers, but posting here is a good way to show the diversity of ebikers and hopefully find some others who share your experiences.

On the wind noise--I have these contraptions that attach to my helmet straps that change the way air flows around my head. They help with wind noise. I don't know if they would help in your case.

On mirrors: I have a helmet mirror that I LOVE, and am glad to recommend (I have no connection to the company except as a satisfied customer). I think this is much more effective than a handlebar mirror, if you can adapt well to it: