When there's no dealer...

GregF

I'm just beginning my journey into the world of e-bikes and trying to get my head around it all. My wife and I live in the Central Sierras of California and are in the process of moving from a fairly remote area to the only "city" in the county (population 4,500). One of the primary reasons for the move is to cut down on the amount of driving we have to do and we are considering whether we can manage with one car and an e-bike. The bike would be used for light commuting and running local errands within about a 10 mile radius.

Here's the question: The nearest dedicated e-bike shop/dealer is in Sacramento, about 80 miles away. Our town has only one traditional bike shop. I've read some horror stories on the forums about buying online and being stuck when repairs or parts are needed. What would you all suggest for someone in my position, looking to buy a reliable e-bike for under $2,500?

This forum and site has been a great resource so far. Thanks for your help.

I took the the plunge 2 years ago with an easy motion bike I brought tonthe Dominican Republic where there are no dealers for e-bikes, but various conventional bike shops. That bike, fortunately, has been reliable requiring no service for the e-drivetrain. Shortly theresafter, we acquired a second easy motion bike and both have had zero issues, and both were near your price point.

Recently I purchased and brought a much pricier e-bike, a Stromer ST2. It has had minor teething issues, but they have been addressed though this forum (i.e. Charging issues) and directly with the company;s customer support which has been fine. While YMMV, I've gotten by unplugged from the dealer network with basic conventional bike maintenance skills and the availability of decent forum/manufacturer support.