What to do with this old Schwinn

Jay.Rooster

So, I am new to eBikes, but my first arrives this month in the form of a Sondors XS. But I also have this old 2007 Schwinn Frontier GSX that I ride occasionally to this day. This bike never saw extensive use and was in the basement for many years. Well I've treated it good for the last 12 months, and I have no need to make this Schwinn an eBike, but I think I want to anyway. Thing is, this won't be my be-all and end-all since I'll have the Sondors for that. What I'm looking for is some advice as to what I need.

I know right off the bat I don't want to spend much. But I'm also not in this to spend as little as possible and end up with something not worthy of my time. But, I'd say well under a thousand. And I don't necessarily mean $300 all-in, but I simply don't have the need to make this a beast. And it's an old Schwinn anyway.. it may not even be worthy of anything at all.

Power? My XS will have a 750w motor.. I don't need anything near that for this Schwinn. I want something that will help me maybe double my human capacity for biking, which isn't that good right now. I can do at least 10 miles on mountain roads, but that takes the fun out of the ride for me because I've spent most of my energy.

For the battery, I'm not sure. Maybe 20 miles assistance? Maybe 15? I don't need a ton.. just a little something extra.

Is this bike worth a bit of work and money for a diy kit? Oh and for simplicity sake, I'm looking at probably a front hub motor since I plan on installing this myself. Rear motor seems intimidating and maybe more work than I'd be able to do myself.

Any help or advice that leads me to the right information would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 2020-08-09 07.43.22 1.jpg
    2020-08-09 07.43.22 1.jpg
    963.3 KB · Views: 469