Vektron S10 with Performance Line (2021) or Active Line Plus (2020)?

inq2020

Hello everyone,

i'm still playing with the idea to buy an ebike for my daily (~9km/~5mi) commuting trip.
Because of my limited storage base in my basement and the option to carry it easily with my car is the "Vektron S10" on top of my list, followed by the "Hercules Rob Fold".
It seems that for 2021 Tern upgraded the bike with a Performance Line and 500w battery, new price here 3799€.
Right now i can probably get the older version with the Active Line Plus and 400w battery for around 3100€, all prices tax incl.

To people who drive this bike and have some practical engine comparisons:
Does the Vektron gets any practical benefits from this upgrade that is worth to wait and pay ~700€ more?
With 3799€ it is in the same league with a Riese and Müller Tinker o_O

I have no experience with the Tern Vektron S10 but I am interested in it myself. I was not aware of a new model being announced and I cannot find any information about it. Do you have a link to a website?

Michiel

Thank you, I can read German.

I tried the Tern Vektron S10 (2019 model, 2 years old) a week ago and while I do like the bike, I found that (i) the motor is not very powerful compared to other foldable bicycles I have tried, and (ii) when folded it cannot easily be rolled on its wheels, it creates quite a wide package where the wheels are not necessarily parallel. Given that the current model is already 2 years old and the new version has a more powerful motor, I think it may be worth the wait for the 2021 version.

The Vektron S10 is the same price as the Gocycle GX. The latter is lighter and folds nicer, allowing to roll it more easily when folded. This model was just renewed in July, so I will likely go for the Gocycle GX myself, although I quite like the look of the Vektron S10 and the fact that I can carry baskets on the rear.