Turbo Tero 3.0 questions

dougth

Region
USA
I'm new to e biking after 30 years of high mileage road and trail riding. Age and a knee replacement have led me rather reluctantly to an ebike. I researched online and ordered a Specialized Turbo Tero 3.0(arrives tomorrow), which I realize is on the lower end of the spectrum. Figures for the range are all over the place, up to 90 miles. I figure on only using the lower power setting and going human power when with a tailwind or downhill. I do a 6 day 400 mile mostly flat trail ride each year, 60 mile days with the first and last days at 80 miles. I'm REALLY hoping that this bike will do the job. I stumbled onto this site last night and figured that someone could reassure me that this is doable?

Another new question after reading the forum is all this software stuff. Gees, I just want a bike that will give me a little boost when I need it, and the posts I read were talking about software updates and having to find a Specialized dealer to do them and issues with the updates. Can't I just keep it simple and ride without going into all the tech? After reading those posts I've been wondering if I made the wrong decision. I was under the impression that it was possible to tweak the power in 10% increments and thought that was about the extent of it.

Hopefully someone out there can help me out. Thanks!

the posts I read were talking about software updates
If you're talking about Tero 3.0 specifically, they shipped originally as a class 1 (assist up to 20MPH) bike but increased it with a FW update to class 3 (assist up to 28MPH) which would explain particular interest in Tero 3.0 updates.

60-80 miles on a charge is definitely doable if you keep the assist level low. There are "smart settings" which let you preprogram the expected range and elevation gain and the bike will automatically limit you to the available power (with temporary boosts by hitting +).