Throttle vs. Pedal Assist

Cal

I'm curious how often those of you who've been e-biking for awhile use the throttle, assuming you've got both throttle and PAS? ... I get the impression riders use the throttle a lot in the beginning but, over time, get more and more used to pedal assist, using the throttle less and less. I'm curious because I'm new to all this and trying to figure out whether I need/want a bike with a throttle+PAS (and hub drive) or pedal assist only (with smooth Bosch mid-drive motor).

Thanks for sharing your wisdom!

Last edited:
Hey Cal. I'm still pretty new to these bikes myself. For me, on a long ride early in the trip, I hardly use the throttle at all. I also use the lowest level of pedal assist to conserve battery and I actually really like to pedal. Later in the day on the ride back when I am fatiguing I lean on the throttle a lot more. It's fun and I'm glad it's there. I also go to pedal assist 3... just cause I can! Having a great time with my bike.

I've been on both sides of the fence here, first ebike was a hub drive with a throttle. I only used it to get going across intersections or starting on a hill, and was afraid I would miss it a lot. I did, in fact, for a little while, once buying a new bike with the Bosch system. However, I got over it quick once I figured out that all you have to do in those circumstances is punch it up to Tour or even Sport for the first second or two when taking off up that hill... it takes off within a quarter of a pedal stroke. My view is that the Bosch system is so much more responsive and natural feeling I would not go back. YOUR MILEAGE MAY VARY, this is subjective as hell, but it appears to be the big rationale for mid drives along with the ease of fixing the dreaded rear tire flat.