The E-Classic Plus

Doggyman1202

I was suggesting various e-bikes to my adult nephew who I would describe as e bike-curious, but still resistant. The new E Classic Plus looks like a potentially promising transition bike on paper, but there are no actual reviews I could find thus far. (Judging by the YT comment section, some viewers seem to think e-bikes just magically fall into the hands of "influencers", such as Court, Micah, et. al.).

Personally, I like the minimalism, and most of the cost/design compromises: A belt drive with a simple IGH and hydraulic brakes at this price point is impressive. I consider the lack of throttle a "feature-not-a-bug", but I know that's a contrarian point of view. Other pluses are relatively light weight and upright riding position. I have no knowledge or opinion about the uncommon front hub motor. The biggest question mark though is the apparent lack of a torque sensor. Perhaps it's not necessary on a low power, front hub design but I am hesitant to really recommend this bike without real world feedback.

So...have any intrepid EBR members pulled the trigger on one of these?

Hello! I’ve just gotten the bicycle and only ridden it once (home from Priority’s office), but am enjoying it thus far and happy to answer any questions to the best of my novice abilities.

This is my first e-bike, so I really have no idea what I’m talking about: take everything with that perspective. The pedal assist was great—powerful without feeling overwhelming. My cardio is dreadful so going up the Brooklyn Bridge would’ve been tough with no help: I used mostly level 1 and 2 pedal assist, popping briefly up to a level 3, but only for about 15 seconds. I took the ride from Tribeca to Prospect Park primarily at assist level 1 or completely off; except for the bridge incline which I used as an opportunity to test the power. I could’ve got up the incline on a level 2 with mild-to-moderate effort.